(September 2019)

Back Row (left to right): Gaurav, Chuan, Zach, Dr. Zhang, Dr. Huang, Dr. Wang;


Middle Row (left to right): Harsh, Xueying, Dr. Han, Yanming, Dr. Chen, Junyu, Steve, Meng;


Front Row (left to right): Dr. Wang, Dr. He, Dr. Wu, Dr. Dong, Xiaorui, Yanpei, and Dr. Ma.



  Research Scientists, Postdoctoral Research Associates, Graduate Students, Visting Scholars and Students, Group Alumni  


Principal Investigator: Dr. Shengqian Ma, Professor


  Contact Information
  Shengqian Ma (CV)
  Department of Chemistry
  University of South Florida,
  CHE 205A, 4202 E. Fowler Ave,
  Tampa, Florida 33620
  Phone: 813-974-5217 (IDRB 202G)
  Fax: 813-974-3203 
  Selected Awards & Honors
  2019 Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher
  2018 Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher
  Outstanding Faculty Award, USF, 03/2018
  2017 Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher
  2016 Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher

Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers 'Emerging Investigator', 2016

  2015 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher
  Faculty Outstanding Research Achievement Award, USF, 07/2015
  • IUPAC-2015 Young Chemist Travel Award, 03/2015
  2014 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher
  • NSF CAREER Award, 2014
  ChemComm 'Emerging Investigator', 2014

Faculty Research & Development Award, University of South Florida, 01/2011, 05/2013


• 2009 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists from IUPAC, 04/2009


Young Investigator Award from ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry, 04/2008


Director's Postdoctoral Fellowship of Argonne National Laboratory, 07/2008 - 07/2010


Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad of Year 2007, 04/2008


Sigma Xi Grant-in-Aid of Research Award from Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, 04/2007 - 04/2008





Research Scientists(up)  
Dr. Hui Yang
Dr. Chengxia Chen
Research Scientist
Research Scientist
September 2016 - present
September 2018 - present
PhD, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
PhD, Sun Yat-Sen University, China


Postdoctoral Research Associates (up)  
Dr. Zheng Niu
Dr. Qi Sun
Dr. Weijie Zhang
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Postdoctoral Research Associate
March 2015 - present
May 2015 - present
June 2019 - present
PhD, Nankai University, China
PhD, Zhejiang University, China
PhD, Jiangnan University, China


Graduate Students (up)  
Gaurav Verma
Meng Chen
Harsh Vardhan
PhD Candidate, August 2015 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2016 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2016 - present
BS-MS, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
BS, Changchun University of Science and Technology
BS, Hansraj College, University of Delhi, India
Xiaoliang Wang
Steve Lan
Yanpei Song
PhD Candidate, January 2017 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2017 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2017 - present
BS, Shantou University, China
BS, University of California, Berkeley
BS, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, China
Junyu Ren
Zach Magnuson
Chuan Shan
PhD Candidate, August 2017 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2017 - present
PhD Candidate, August 2017 - present
BS, Harbin Institute of Technology (Weihai), China
BS, University of Central Florida
BS, Shandong University, China
Your picture
Xueying Ge
PhD Candidate, January 2018 - present
BS, Wuhan University, China
Visting Scholars and Students (up)
Dr. Wu Zhang
Dr. Yuan Wang
Dr. Weina Wu
Visiting Scholar, December 2018 - present
Visiting Scholar, December 2018- present
Visiting Scholar, March 2019 - present
Lecturer, Tianjin University of Science & Technology, China
Associate Professor, Henan Polytechnic University, China
Lecturer, Henan Polytechnic University, China
Dr. Xinyan Dong
Dr. Xiaolong Han
Dr. Qi Wang
Visiting Scholar, April 2019 - present
Visiting Scholar, April 2019 - present
Visiting Scholar, April 2019 - present
Associate Professor, Ningbo Institute of Technology, Zhejiang University, China
Associate Professor, Northwest University, China
Professor, Zhejiang Gongshang University, China
Dr. Wenwen He
Visiting Scholar, May 2019 - present
Lecturer, Changchun University of Technology, China
Xiaorui Li
Yanming Zhao
Visiting Student, September 2017 - present
Visiting Student, October 2017 - present
PhD Candidate, South China University of Technology, China
PhD Candidate, Tianjin University, China
  Group Alumni (up)      
    Graduate Students    


Briana Aguila (PhD, Summer 2019)

Current: Assistant Professor at Francis Marion University


Bhagya Gunatilleke (MS, Fall 2018)

Current: PhD candidatein Department of Physics at USF

Chavis Stackhouse (PhD, Spring 2018)

Current: Postdoctoral associate at SUNY-Stony Brook

Kia Williams (PhD, Fall 2017)

Current: Scientist at Methrohm USA


Wenyang Gao (PhD, Fall 2016)

Current: Postdoctoral associate at Texas A&M University

Matthew Chrzanowski (Spring 2015)

Tran Hoang (MA, Spring 2015)


Lacy Lux (MA, Spring 2015)

Yao Chen (PhD, Summer 2014)

Current: Professor at Nankai University, China

Le Meng (MS, Spring 2012)

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Dr.Xili Cui (Jan. 2018 - Jan. 2019)

Current: Professor at Zhejiang University, China

Dr. Sanjay Kuma (Dec. 2014 - Mar. 2016)

Current: Assistant Professor at M.M. Modi College, India

Dr. Wendy Liu (Apr. 2015 - Nov. 2015)

Current: Assistant Researcher at Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan


Dr. Baiyan Li (Oct. 2012 - Jul. 2015)

Current: Professor at Nankai University, China

Dr. Xi-Sen Wang (Jan. 2011 - Jun. 2014)

Research Scientists/Scholars

Dr. Ziqi Yang (Jan. 2018 - Jun. 2018)


Dr. Jason Perman (Jul. 2016 - Jul. 2018)

Current: Scientist at Anton Paar

Dr. Yiming Zhang (Oct. 2012 - Jul. 2015)


Visting Scholars and Students

Kulandaivel Sivasankar (Apr. 2019 - Jul. 2019)


Dr. Sisi Feng (Aug. 2018 - Aug. 2019)


Linxiao Hou (Feb. 2018 - Feb. 2019)



Xun Wang (Sep. 2016- Sep. 2018)


Boxuan Yu (Jan. 2018 - Sep. 2018)


Yi Chen (Aug. 2018 - Sep. 2018)



Dr. Yuxiu Sun (Sep. 2016- Sep. 2017)


Dr. Feng Guo (Oct. 2015 - Aug. 2017)


Chung-Wei Fu (Oct. 2015 - Apr. 2017)



Dr. Jie Sun (Mar. 2016 - Mar. 2017)


Dr. Lisheng Wang (Mar. 2016 - Aug. 2016)


Hongming He (Jun. 2015 - Jun. 2016)



Weijie Zhang (Dec. 2014 - Jan. 2016)


Dr. Yuchuan Cheng (Mar. 2015 - Apr. 2016)


Chen-Yen Tsai (Sep. 2015 - Apr. 2016)



Dr. Yang Wang (Jul. 2014 - Jun. 2015)


Dr. Xiuli Wang (Nov. 2013 - Jan. 2014)


Thomas Bougattaya (Apr. 2011 - Aug. 2011)